Thursday, March 5, 2009

Just a Sweet Transvestitie

For me i think it would have to be the movie, "Rocky Horror Picture Show". to get get it over with yes it was amazing, it blew my mind, etc... but here is why it was amazing. back in the day, when i was a lot younger you would never see a anything but heterosexuals in movies. i guess being gay was more taboo in the 90's, but they were out there and i knew it! movies even back than were all starting to look, sound, and feel the same to me. plots re-done, or 'original' ideas composed of 5 already done ideas. i wanted to see a movie that was different from the ones i had already seen, but sadly even today that is hard to find. of course it was...until a friend of mine asked how i felt about transvestites and i was like, "i love 'em, now why you asking?". and that is how i was made to see the wonderful movie of Rocky Horror (leave it to the 70's to still kick every other decades ass when it comes to originality. thank you acid and shrooms for making artsy films possible). this movie did blow my mind, but for very good reason. this movie had my hero dressed up as a bi-sexual. it had a man wearing make-up, corset, and fish net stocking, singing about gay sex. it made me wish i lived in the 70's. first off movies now a days do not really have those o a homosexual orientation. some do, because thankfully i think they Americans are starting to feel a lot more comfortable with someone of a different sexual orientation, but by god we never even touched the subject of the trans people. to make a movie with a man dressing up as a bit of a women, not because he is crazy/mocking him/for the purpose of comedy, but because that is who he is and this is perfectly normal, well thast ground breaking right there. and the music and costumes are another thing i loved. the music was so origianl and catchy. the music in itself was not iritating like i hear in most musicals. this movie added music for its own pleasure. it did not need music, it felt like it just threw it in there at the best parts. and what i loved the most? the music meant nothing. there was no morals in it to be heard, no stupid random love scene love song, it was just there for the soul purpose of being there. these words could be spoken, but it was a lot more fun to sing it. and the costumes? well for one the only time i have seen a man in a corset is..well never, and a woman, well since sex sells now all women get to be demeaned so i guess always. but it was always for a reason...Tim curry was all dressed up because this was what he wore on casual occasions, it was epic. and all the costumes looked so normal, but at the same time were just completely out there. it made the people in the movie who entered the building look like weirdos not the people wearing what looked to be chrome. it mocked normality and thats what movies lack. this movie was all in itself just amazing. it made you laugh, sing, wanna dance, without feeling weird about what was going on. it made me wish there were movies more out there. taht would touch the uncomfortable subjects of sexuality, drugs, and even murder in a comical/musical sense. (i am having a hard time thinking right now so i hope what i have said made some kind of sense. if not than i will defend it more tomorrow, with a clearer head)

1 comment:

  1. Iv'e been meaning to see that movie for years, mainly just because of the title, but I haven't got around to it. I'll try and check it out 4sure Now!

    ReplyDelete

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.